Henry County Water Authority board members sworn in to begin terms in 2019

Henry County Superior Court Judge Trea Pipkin administers the Oath of Office to HCWA Board Members during last month’s meeting. Those members, which include two newcomers, are (left to right): Vice-Chairman Warren Holder (District 1), Member Zuwena Poole (District 4), Chairman Jimmy Carter (District 3), Secretary/Treasurer Carlotta Harrell (District 5), and Member Cletonya LaGrand Stidom (District 2). (Special Photo)

McDONOUGH — With the swearing in of the Henry County Water Authority’s 2019 board of directors, the local utility welcomes two new members to its leadership ranks this year.

John A. “Trea” Pipkin, Henry County Superior Court judge, administered the oath of office to the five members of the HCWA board at the authority’s January board meeting.

Cletonya LaGrand Stidom was sworn in to represent the citizens of District 2, following her appointment by Henry County Commissioner Dee Clemmons, while Zuwena Poole was sworn in to represent Henry County’s District 4, following her appointment by newly elected Commissioner Vivian Thomas, who won the District 4 seat during the general election last fall.

In addition, Jimmy Carter, who was appointed to the HCWA board by recently re-elected Henry County Commissioner Gary Barham, was sworn in to continue his service representing District 3. Carter is the longest tenured HCWA board member, serving since 2005. Joining Carter as reappointments on the HCWA are Warren Holder, representing District 1, and Carlotta Harrell, representing District 5. Holder is an appointee of Commissioner Johnny Wilson, while Harrell was re-appointed by Commissioner Bruce B. Holmes, who was re-elected this past fall.

Following the swearing in ceremony, Carter was selected by his fellow HCWA board members to continue his service as chairman of the authority, a position he’d held since 2011. In addition, Holder was selected as vice chairman and Harrell was selected to continue as secretary and treasurer. Kimberly Turner Osborne was selected to continue her service as clerk.

As one of the two new members on the HCWA board, Stidom is an experienced tax accounting and business consulting professional, with over 20 years of experience as a consultant. Before starting her own tax accounting firm – C.K. LaGrand Consulting – in 2013, she was president of J.D. Fletcher and Associates LLC.

Poole has lived in Henry County since 2003. She currently is the chief of staff for Thomas. She also has been an entrepreneur her entire career, working as a licensed real estate agent for over 10 years, as well as a professional stylist for over 20 years, including as the owner of her own salon.

Carter is a sixth-generation resident of Henry County who has a history of public service. He is a past chairman of the Henry County Board of Education. Professionally, he is an independent sales representative for ABS Global, Inc. He also is a former Executive Director of the Georgia Milk Producers Inc. and is the owner and operator of Southern Belle Farm in McDonough.

Like Carter, Holder has similar life-long experience in business and public service in Henry County. He is the owner of Warren Holder Equipment LLC in Locust Grove. His public service record, in addition to beginning his third year on the HCWA board, includes 18 years on the Locust Grove City Council. From there, he served on the Henry County Farm Service Agency and the Henry County Board of Education. He also served on the Henry County Board of Commissioners from 1996 to 2012.

Harrell has served on the HCWA Board since January of 2013. She currently is the chief of staff for Holmes, in addition to serving as a project manager for The Georgia Conference of Black Mayors. Additionally, she has 20 years of law enforcement experience in the State of Georgia. Locally, Harrell serves as vice chair of the Henry County SPLOST V Committee.

Stay Informed