CONYERS — The heat and humidity Thursday morning didn’t stop thousands of Snapping Shoals Electric Membership Corporation members from coming together for the 81st annual meeting at the Georgia International Horse Park.

Snapping Shoals serves nearly 100,000 member accounts across eight counties — Henry, Walton, Newton, DeKalb, Morgan, Rockdale, Butts and Jasper.

Three director posts were up for reelection at the annual meeting, including Ruby Woods, representing Newton, Walton, Morgan and Jasper counties; Millard Ross, representing Rockdale County; and James I. White, representing Henry and Butts counties.

Other representatives on the EMC board from Henry County are Chairman Gene Morris and Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Jake Carter.

Entertainment for the event was provided by Chris Golden, winner of the 2019 Entertainer of the Year award presented by the International Country Gospel Music Association.

Stay Informed