SMYRNA — Congressman David Scott hosted a Military Academy ceremony earlier this month to honor students who earned a nomination to an academy.

Six Henry County students received a nomination from Scott.

U.S. Air Force Academy

Johnathan Youngblood, McDonough, U.S. Air Force Academy Preparatory School

U.S. Military Academy at West Point

Jaela Rivera, Stockbridge, Dutchtown High School

U.S. Naval Academy

Andrea Clutter, Hampton, Community Christian School

Katherine Ketner, Hampton, Eagles Landing Christian Academy

Olubusola Oke, McDonough, Eagles Landing High School

Rathin Shah, Hampton, Creekside Christian Academy

In addition to representatives from the military academies, the Dutchtown High School Color Guard also participated in the ceremony on Feb. 8 at Brawner Hall in Smyrna.

Recommended for you

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.