MCDONOUGH – Henry County Schools Superintendent Mary Elizabeth Davis is among superintendents from across the state who will join with Georgia Department of Education and Georgia Department of Public Health to discuss vaccination rollout plans for teachers and school staff. In addition to superintendents, representatives from teacher associations will attend the meeting.

The working group will consist of superintendents from rural, suburban, and urban regions of the state who have partnered with their local public health officials to develop strong distribution plans for teacher vaccinations. State School Superintendent Richard Woods, GaDPH Commissioner Dr. Kathleen Toomey, and other GaDOE and GaDPH staff will meet with this group to provide feedback and discuss ways their plans can be used as statewide models.

Georgia teachers and school staff are prioritized in Phase 1B of Georgia’s vaccine administration plan, along with other non-healthcare essential workers. Georgia is currently in Phase 1A+ of the plan, which includes health care workers, staff and residents of long-term care facilities, adults aged 65 or older and their caregivers, and first responders.

“We are working closely with the Georgia Department of Public Health to ensure teachers are vaccinated as soon as the supply is available,” Woods said. “Many school districts have done excellent work, in partnership with their local public health officials, planning ahead for vaccine distribution to their teachers and staff. I’m looking forward to working with these superintendents and Dr. Toomey to amplify those best practices across the state.”

Following the meeting, GaDOE and GaDPH will publish collected best practices for vaccine distribution that can be used by school districts in partnership with their local public health officials.

In addition to Davis, the following superintendents have been invited to participate in the working group:

Dr. Scarlett Copeland, Appling County Schools

Dr. Lisa Herring, Atlanta Public Schools

Dr. Noris Price, Baldwin County Schools

Dr. Curtis Jones, Bibb County Schools

Dr. Michele Taylor, Calhoun City Schools

Dr. Kristie Brooks, Chattahoochee County Schools

Dr. Brian Hightower, Cherokee County Schools

Mr. Kenneth Dyer, Dougherty County Schools

Mr. Trent North, Douglas County Schools

Dr. Bronwyn Ragan-Martin, Early County Schools

Dr. Rob Brown, Lumpkin County Schools

Dr. Grant Rivera, Marietta City Schools

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, the world needs trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by subscribing or making a contribution today.