MCDONOUGH — The top football players from Henry County programs can be seen below, as selected by the sports department of the Henry Herald.

Player of the Year: Marquez Ezzard, Stockbridge

Offensive Player of the Year: Chris Roriguez, Ola

Defensive Player of the Year: Harrison Taylor, ELCA

Coach of the Year: Shawn Jones, Eagle’s Landing High

First Team Offense

Quarterback: Brayden Rush, ELCA

1,350 yards passing, 21 touchdowns, two interceptions, 13 rushing touchdowns

Running Back: Josh Mays, ELCA

154 carries, 1,387 yards, 19 touchdowns, 9.1 yards per carry

Running Back: B.J. Riley, Stockbridge

145 carries, 952 yards, 10 touchdowns

Wide Receiver: Sean Queen, ELCA

28 receptions, 537 yards, 14 touchdowns, 18.24 yards per reception

Wide Receiver: Emanuel Stores, Eagle’s Landing High

51 receptions, 703 yards, five touchdowns

Wide Receiver: Chris Joyce, Dutchtown

1,000 all-purpose yards, seven total touchdowns, three interceptions

Offensive Line: Zack Jones, ELCA

Captain of offense averaging 471 yards per game

Offensive Line: Austin Donaldson, Stockbridge

First Team All-Region 4-AAAAA selection

Offensive Line: James Ohonba, Woodland

First Team All-Region 4-AAAAA selection

Offensive Line: Austin Smith, Ola

First Team All-Region 4-AAAAA selection

Offensive Line: Sydney Snyder, Stockbridge

First Team All-Region 4-AAAAA selection

All-Purpose: Bryce Dewberry, Eagle’s Landing High

31 receptions, 504 yards, seven total touchdowns, five interceptions

Kicker: Logan Friddell, Eagle’s Landing High

35-of-37 on extra points, 13 made field goals, long field goal of 51

First Team Defense

Defensive Line: Brenton Cox, Stockbridge

42 tackles, 9.5 tackles for a loss, five sacks

Defensive Line: William Anderson, Dutchtown

45 Tackles, 14.5 sacks, eight tackles for a loss

Defensive Line: Anthony Britton, Eagle’s Landing High

50 tackles, 18 tackles for a loss, nine sacks

Linebacker: Donovan Manuel, Stockbridge

88 tackles, five tackles for a loss, Region 4-AAAAA Defensive Player of the Year

Linebacker: George Shockley, ELCA

113 tackles, 22 tackles for a loss, three sacks

Linebacker: Johnathan Youngblood, ELCA

112 tackles, five interceptions

Linebacker: Logan Powell, Ola

125 tackles, nine tackles for a loss, three interceptions

Defensive Back: Demaje Carter, Stockbridge

Five interceptions, two defensive touchdowns

Defensive Back: Tre Douglas, ELCA

43 tackles, three interceptions

Defensive Back: Mike Price, Stockbridge

75 tackles, three interceptions

Defensive Back: Nasir Greer, Stockbridge

71 tackles, 7.0 tackles for a loss, two fumble recoveries

All-Purpose: Khaleb Hood, ELCA

55 tackles, four interceptions, two fumble recoveries, six return touchdowns, 600 return yards

Punter: Cade LeJeune, Union Grove

Average punt of 35 yards, long punt of 60

Second Team Offense

Quarterback: Cameron Lewis, Eagle’s Landing High

146-of-261, 1,978 yards 14 touchdowns, two interceptions, 468 yards rushing, seven touchdowns

Running Back: Kelvin Highter, Hampton

126 carries, 744 yards, three touchdowns, six yards per carry average, 62 tackles

Running Back: Keaton Mitchell, ELCA

94 carries, 979 yards, 10 yards per carry average, 20 touchdowns

Wide Receiver: Dequan Mosley, Woodland

27 receptions, 300 yards, five touchdowns, two interceptions, eight pass breakups

Wide Receiver: Dray Starr, Henry County

26 receptions, 354 yards, five touchdowns

Wide Receiver: Justin Menard, ELCA

41 carries, 650 yards, six touchdowns, 15.85 yards per carry, 11 receptions, 297 yards, four touchdowns

Offensive Line: Gavan George, ELCA

First Team All-Region 5-A Private selection

Offensive Line: Ronald Miller, Eagle’s Landing High

Second Team All-Region 4-AAAAA selection

Offensive Line: Daniel Campbell, Ola

Second Team All-Region 4-AAAAA selection

Offensive Line: Shakeel Shaw, Woodland

Second Team All-Region 4-AAAAA selection

Offensive Line: Martin Yates, ELCA

Second Team All-Region 5-A Private selection

All-Purpose: Demetrius Knight, Strong Rock Christian

59-of-99, 682 yards, five touchdowns, 166 carries, 1,025 yards, 13 touchdowns

Kicker: Rico Sanders, Stockbridge

32-of-36 on extra points, 3-of-6 on field goals

Second Team Defense

Defensive Line: Artraiz Bailey, Woodland

71 tackles, seven tackles for a loss

Defensive Line: Jacob Dormevil, Eagle’s Landing High

55 tackles, 9.5 tackles for a loss, 4.5 sacks

Defensive Line: Marquez Brown, Eagle’s Landing High

36 tackles, 10 tackles for a loss, five sacks

Linebacker: Lexington Stocker, Woodland

105 tackles, eight tackles for a loss, 3.5 sacks

Linebacker: Victor Mormann, Locust Grove

85 tackles, 10 tackles for a loss

Linebacker: Kevon Glenn, Dutchtown

95 tackles

Linebacker: Andrew Curry, Ola

109 tackles, six tackles for a loss

Defensive Back: Trey Dean, Dutchtown

Three interceptions, four forced fumbles, two receiving touchdowns

Defensive Back: Jay High, Henry County

73 tackles, four tackles for a loss, four interceptions

Defensive Back: Tijay Brown, Luella

108 tackles, 3.5 tackles for a loss, two forced fumbles

Defensive Back: Franklin Jules, Woodland

97 tackles, 10 tackles for a loss, two interceptions, three blocked field goals, three forced fumbles

All-Purpose: Devin Tumlin, Union Grove

89 carries, 608 yards, three touchdowns, eight receptions, 139 yards, three touchdowns, 45 tackles, three interceptions

Punter: Hunter Daniel, Ola

912 punt yards, four punts inside 20, Second Team All-Region 4-AAAAA

Honorable Mention

Quarterback: Sharriif Brown, Woodland; Gabe McKenzie, Stockbridge; R.J. McDaniel, Locust Grove; Jaylon West, Henry County; Running Back: Kareem Rogers, Woodland; RB Jaylen Blackwell, Strong Rock Christian; RB Justin Robertson, Eagle’s Landing High; Shanaan McKoy, Dutchtown; Cade Powell, Locust Grove; Latrell Murray, Luella; Yahsyn McKee, Stockbridge; Wide Receiver: Billy Jerome, Henry County; Orri Roberts, Henry County; Billy Ward, Locust Grove; Reggie Temple, Luella; Jourdan Cooper, Ola; Jalen Mason, Woodland; Offensive Line: Grayson Goss, Hampton; Evan Zember, ELCA; Cooper Thompson, Strong Rock; Tadarious Burton, Dutchtown; Zyaire Horey, Dutchtown; Defensive Line: Keshi Waddell, Dutchtown; Jacob Camp, Locust Grove; Craven Goodman, Locust Grove; Michael Baker, Woodland; Marquis Black, ELCA; Devontae Lyons, Eagle’s Landing High; Matt Brown, Locust Grove; Tyrese Black, ELCA; Kerick Reese, Stockbridge; Clay Sumner, Ola; Linebacker: J.C. Perry, Hampton; Cameron Younginer, Eagle’s Landing High; Chaz Mayfield, Luella; Adonis Butler, Dutchtown; Trimarcus Cheeks, Eagle’s Landing High; Logan Smith, Locust Grove; Georgia Randall, Luella; Connor Coddington, Ola; Bumani Kirk, Hampton; Defensive Back: Yvner Frederic, Locust Grove; Cameron Cook, Locust Grove; Baylen Sanders, Ola; Ashton Sandy, Ola; Terrance Hill, Hampton; Cameron Brooks, Strong Rock; Kameron Haley, Dutchtown; Kicker: Jack Wilwol, Locust Grove; Tommy Herman, Woodland; Devin Folser, Ola

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.