Locust Grove standout Brooke McCubbin was named the 2019-20 Gatorade Georgia Softball Player of the Year on Thursday.

McCubbin is the first Gatorade Georgia Softball Player of the Year to be chosen from Locust Grove.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes McCubbin as Georgia’s best high school softball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Softball Player of the Year award to be announced in June, McCubbin joins an elite alumni association of state award-winners in 12 sports, including Catherine Osterman (2000-01, Cy Spring High School, Texas), Kelsey Stewart (2009-10, Arkansas City High School, Kan.), Carley Hoover (2012-13 D.W. Daniel High School, S.C.), Jenna Lilley (2012-13, Hoover High School, Ohio), Morgan Zerkle (2012-13 Cabell Midland High School, W. Va.), and Rachel Garcia (2014-15, Highland High School, Calif.).

The 5-foot-9 junior and right-handed pitcher led the Wildcats (33-2) to the Class AAAAA state championship this past season, posting a 23-1 record with a 0.65 ERA. McCubbin struck out 178 batters and walked just 18 in 140 innings pitched. The Georgia Dugout Club Player of the Year and the Georgia Athletic Coaches Association Class AAAAA Pitcher of the Year also batted .412 with 12 home runs and 50 RBIs.

A member of her school’s Future Farmers of America chapter, McCubbin has volunteered locally on behalf of youth softball programs.

“Brooke McCubbin can beat you all by herself,” said Will Harrison, head coach at Union Grove High. “She can pitch, she can hit, she can play defense. She is dedicated to her craft and she attacks the game with a tenacity and ferociousness that is rarely seen at this level.”

McCubbin has maintained an A average in the classroom. She will begin her senior year of high school this fall.

McCubbin joins Gatorade Georgia Softball Players of the Year Kelley Lynch (2018-19 and 2017-18, East Coweta High School), Keara Napoli (2016-17, Cambridge High School), Ashley Morgan (2015-16, Chapel Hill High School) and Kelly Barnhill (2014-15, Pope High School) among the state’s list of former award winners.

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, the world needs trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by subscribing or making a contribution today.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.