McDONOUGH — The Georgia High School association notified schools of their pending moves a week ago but now the first glimpse of regions have been revealed.

There was no movement for teams in Region 4-AAAAA that housed Dutchtown, Eagle’s Landing, Jones County, Ola, Stockbridge, Union Grove and Woodland High but there was plenty of movement for teams in the lower classifications.

In the new Region 5-AAAA, the teams that moved are Fayette County, Hampton, Luella, McDonough, Mount Zion, Jonesboro, North Clayton and Riverdale.

This new region places many of the Henry County schools back in the same region that left 4-AAAA but the move introduced Fayette County, Mount Zion and Riverdale. North Clayton was also a team from 4-AAAA.

To also note, Class A-Private is still going to house ELCA and Strong Rock but there was a change.

The Chargers are no longer in a region with Strong Rock as ELCA moved into Region 2-A Private. The Strong Rock Patriots moved to Region 1-A Private.

The Clayton County side was also affected. Lovejoy and Morrow High remained in their AAAAAA class but have new teams to face which includes North Atlanta.

Down in the lower classifications, Forest Park, Jonesboro, Mundy’s Mill and Drew hang in region 3-AAAAA and are joined by Woodward Academy.

The Reclassification Committee met early Tuesday in part to hear appeals and approve new classification placements.

The Reclassification Committee will meet in the GHSA office beginning at 9:00 a.m., on Tuesday, November 19 to hear appeals for a lateral transfer of regions or appeals from Class A schools whose request to play up into 2A was denied. Schools that wish to appeal must file with the GHSA no later than Monday, Nov. 18.

Currently proposed regions include:

4-AAAAAA♦ Hughes

♦ Lakeside, DeKalb

♦ Lovejoy

♦ Morrow

♦ North Atlanta

♦ Tucker

♦ Westlake

Region 3-AAAAA♦ Banneker

♦ Creekside

♦ Drew

♦ Forest Park

♦ Jonesboro

♦ Mundy’s Mill

♦ Tri-Cities

♦ Woodward Academy

4-AAAAA♦ Dutchtown

♦ Eagle’s Landing

♦ Jones County

♦ Locust Grove

♦ Ola

♦ Stockbridge

♦ Union Grove

♦ Woodland, Stockbridge

5-AAAA♦ Fayette County

♦ Hampton

♦ Luella

♦ McDonough

♦ Mount Zion, Jonesboro

♦ North Clayton

♦ Riverdale

NFB-A Public♦ Elite Scholars and 26 other schools

Region 1-A Private♦ Deerfield-Windsor

♦ First Presbyterian

♦ Mount de Sales Academy

♦ Stratford Academy

♦ Strong Rock Christian School

♦ Tattnall Square Academy

2-A Private♦ Eagle’s Landing Christian Academy

♦ Landmark Christian

♦ Our Lady of Mercy

♦ Whitefield Academy

Sports Editor

Graduated from South Carolina State University in 2015. Been with the Henry Herald and Clayton News in two capacities as a sports journalist and interim sports editor.

Stay Informed