NFL: Philadelphia Eagles at Atlanta Falcons

Sep 15, 2019; Atlanta, GA, USA; Atlanta Falcons free safety Ricardo Allen (37) celebrates their win against the Philadelphia Eagles at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

Former NFL MVP Cam Newton, Pro Bowl wide receivers Mike Evans and Jarvis Landry, and veteran defensive stars Richard Sherman and Bobby Wagner are among the nominees for the 2019 Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

The league revealed the 32 nominees (one from each team) on Thursday for the award, which is the 50th season it has been bestowed. The winner will be announced on Feb. 1 in Miami, the night before Super Bowl LIV, at the league's annual awards show.

Named for the late Hall of Fame running back Walter Payton since 1999, the honor celebrates one player each year for going above and beyond in performing community service away from the field.

"Every day, in cities and towns across America, NFL players give of themselves to make our communities better," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell in a statement. "The 32 nominees for this year's award are the best of the best and truly embody the spirit of Walter and his legacy of leaving the world better than he found it."

The winner will be given a $250,000 donation for his preferred charity, with each nominee getting a donation of up to $50,000 in their name to their chosen charity.

Last year's winner was former Philadelphia Eagles defensive end Chris Long, who retired after the season.

Below is a list of the 2019 nominees:

-Arizona Cardinals RB David Johnson

-Atlanta Falcons DB Ricardo Allen

-Baltimore Ravens DB Brandon Carr

-Buffalo Bills LB Lorenzo Alexander

-Carolina Panthers QB Cam Newton

-Chicago Bears WR Allen Robinson II

-Cincinnati Bengals RB Giovani Bernard

-Cleveland Browns WR Jarvis Landry

-Dallas Cowboys OL Travis Frederick

-Denver Broncos DB Justin Simmons

-Detroit Lions LB Devon Kennard

-Green Bay Packers LB Blake Martinez

-Houston Texans DL D.J. Reader

-Indianapolis Colts DB Pierre Desir

-Jacksonville Jaguars DL Calais Campbell

-Kansas City Chiefs P Dustin Colquitt

-Los Angeles Chargers LB Uchenna Nwosu

-Los Angeles Rams OL Andrew Whitworth

-Miami Dolphins DT Davon Godchaux

-Minnesota Vikings TE Kyle Rudolph

-New England Patriots DL Kyle Van Noy

-New Orleans Saints OL Terron Armstead

-New York Giants OL Nate Solder

-New York Jets OL Jonotthan Harrison

-Oakland Raiders LB Tahir Whitehead

-Philadelphia Eagles DB Malcolm Jenkins

-Pittsburgh Steelers OL Maurkice Pouncey

-San Francisco 49ers DB Richard Sherman

-Seattle Seahawks LB Bobby Wagner

-Tampa Bay Buccaneers WR Mike Evans

-Tennessee Titans OL Ben Jones

-Washington Redskins LS Nick Sundberg

--Field Level Media

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.