MCDONOUGH — The 2017-18 Henry County Public Schools Athletic Awards were handed out Monday night during a ceremony at Union Grove High.

Winners from each sport were chosen by the Athletic Directors within the county. Criteria included on-the-field production, as well as off-the-field accolades such as grades and community service.

The big winners were Eagle’s Landing High’s Cameron Lewis and Locust Grove’s Megan Pildner, who were named the Chuck Miller Male Athlete of the Year and the Female Athlete of the Year, respectively. Lewis was a standout player for the Golden Eagles on the football field and the baseball diamond, while Pildner was an important piece of Locust Grove’s state championship softball team.

Ola’s Joey DiNino was named Male Sport Coach of the Year after leading the wrestling team to a second-place finish at the Class AAAAA state championships. Locust Grove’s Chris Davis was named Female Sport Coach of the Year after guiding the Lady Wildcats to the Class AAAAA softball state title.

Union Grove saw 13 student-athletes win awards for their respective sports. The Wolverines swept awards in cross country, as Dominic Macias won Boys Athlete of the Year and McKenzie Cromer won Girls Athlete of the Year, and tennis, as Cayman Harris was Boys Player of the Year and Cara Coursey was Girls Player of the Year. Susan Walker and Zachary Thomas also gave the Wolverines a clean sweep in riflery.

Other winners for Union Grove included Justin Ruffin (wrestling), Lauren Waldrop (girls soccer), Ashleigh Mead (girls golf), Kayleigh Landress (cheerleading) and Kimora Bailey (girls lacrosse). Cade LeJeune and Lexie McClellan earned Male Academic Athlete and Female Academic Athlete of the Year, respectively.

Some of the top athletes in the state called Henry County home and were honored in their respective sport. Stockbridge High and current University of Miami wide receiver Marquez Ezzard was named Football Player of the Year. Fellow Tiger Kavonte Ivery won Boys Basketball Player of the Year. Locust Grove ace Nolan Crisp was named Baseball Player of the Year. Henry County High’s Brooke Moore finished her memorable career as Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

Locust Grove’s Martina Maloch was named Fastpich Softball Player of the Year after leading the Lady Wildcats to the state title. Ola’s Jackson DiSario and Andrew Curry and Luella’s Dan Reid joined Union Grove’s Ruffin as Wrestlers of the Year.

Ola High’s Allie Sarsany, Keith Watkins, Kendall Washo and Madelyn Smith won awards in volleyball, boys golf, swimming and gymnastics, respectively. Luella High’s Latrell Murray and Henry County High’s Camryn Mathis were named Boys and Girls Track Athlete of the Year, respectively. Dutchtown’s Xavier Ward was named Boys Soccer Player of the Year and ELCA’s Michael Bell was named Boys Lacrosse Player of the Year.

Stay Informed